Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Struggling with mkfifo
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Struggling with mkfifo Post 49973 by alan on Wednesday 14th of April 2004 05:01:55 PM
Old 04-14-2004
Quote:
This does not make a lot of sense.
So-rry your Unix-ness...Smilie I should have been more specific & I apologize: I'm still very new to Unix. I meant to say that on the machine I work on, I (as a user) can only use MKFIFO.

If I do `mknod bla`, I get an error message "mknod: must be super-user". BTW, I tried to do the same thing as you did: it did not work.

[dev1@la]/home/dev1% mknod bla p
[dev1@la]/home/dev1% cat bla &
[2] 23119
[dev1@la]/home/dev1% echo "hello world" > bla
ksh: bla: cannot create

I am working in my /home directory. What am I doing wrong?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

struggling with addusr ...

I'm completely new to UNIX, and having got the hang of directory navigation / creation (Just about), I think it is time to create an FTP account, so that I can upload a web site remotely. Herein lies the problem... 1: I cannot find a breakdown of addusr commands, so I cannot create a... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Dufty
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Struggling with a text file

Hi, I am struggling with the following... I try to grep out information of a text file I got with lynx, a text browser. The text file I get from lynx with dump is attached in the bottom. What I would like to get is another file containing the astro-ph/98324 (number) and title and list of... (13 Replies)
Discussion started by: pau
13 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Help- Unix File Compare- Struggling