Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Palm PDA
Operating Systems Solaris Palm PDA Post 48953 by matteguru on Monday 22nd of March 2004 01:41:01 PM
Old 03-22-2004
Quote:
Originally posted by Perderabo
You really need to learn how to use a search engine. I see thousands of options. Here are two of them.

Solaris USB driver for Palm HotSync cradle

Solaris PDASync
4 points:
1) Just FYI - I'm a 11 year UNIX veteran, I'm not a newbie. I think I know how to a use a search engine. Don't you think I would have tried that first?

2) 1st link: I've been trying to get this guy's driver to work for over 3 months. I even tried his pdadrv package off of blastwave.org. We've been in direct email contact during this time and I still have no working driver. The driver causes my system to panic when I press the HOTSYNC button. Erik Hovland does not have access to an UltraSparc at the moment. So troubleshooting it has been problematic. I'm almost tempted to just a buy an ultra 10 off ebay and send it to him. The key word here is: WORKING

3) 2nd link: Sun's PDASync only works with serial cradles, not USB. I'd have to get a USB to serial convertor, which I'm trying to avoid.

4) I'm sorry but there are not thousands of options. There's not even a commercial option that supports USB. If there is, show me. I'll buy it.

3 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Linux/Unix PDA

Is it possible to get a handheld pc/pda with Linux or Unix installed. Most of them seem to come with something called Palm OS or Windows. (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: jacx2
7 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Palm Q's

I have a Palm m105, and a serial hotsync cradle, and the PalmPilot connectivity software that came with RH Linux 7.1. I can't get it to work! I don't know what to put in the fields, etc! what should i do?!?!?!? how do i install applications?!?!?! i have to use the iMacs at school and my Windows... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: boris888