Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Installing Linux on an individual drive and the MBR.. Post 4798 by PravusMentis on Tuesday 31st of July 2001 07:30:00 PM
Old 07-31-2001
Installing Linux on an individual drive and the MBR..

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If I install linux on my 2nd HD which is aprox 30 Gigs do I still need to worry about all this W2k MBR editing stuff, and could anyone tell me a good size for each area (Root, Home, var etc etc))

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Solaris

Error After Installing Tape Drive

Hi, I am a newbie to Solaris, I have a SunFire V120 box, i was trying to install a tape drive(HP SureStore DAT24), i did the install in this manner. # rm -rf /etc/path_to_inst # init 6 later at the "ok" prompt i gave "boot -ar" after doing that it asked me various options i accepted the... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: rajendra.rait
2 Replies

2. Linux

Installing tape drive?

Hello. I have Redhat 8.0 on a laptop. Working good. I wanted to install the tape drive that is physically attached to it. The tape drive worked fine under Windows98SE. It's one of those parallel QIC-80 drives and I confirmed that it is supported by FTape. It appears that FTape might already... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: RuralTurtle
0 Replies

3. Red Hat

Dual boot (Booting Windows from Linux MBR)

Hi , I have two disk installed with Linux(disk 1) and WinXP(disk 2) .Now i am changing Hardisk jumbper manualy to get in to Linux/Windows .I want to configure my REDHAT linux boot manager to list Linux and WindowXP and wanna boot according to my choice . Here is what my fdisk -l shows (Only... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: gkrishn
2 Replies

4. SCO

Installing SCSI Tape drive