Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Linux programming advice needed.... Post 47347 by trostycp on Sunday 8th of February 2004 08:51:44 PM
Old 02-08-2004
Question programming advice needed....

i'm a grad student taking a UNIX course and a networks course (i have a background in C++ and JAVA). i'm trying to combine the two classes.
My questions stems from a networks programming homework assignment below:
"Using the operating system and language of your choice, develop a program to set and monitor a serial interface. Display the interface status at the start of the program. Initialize the interface (DTR, RTS, 8 data bits, no parity, 19,200 bps). Report all interface status changes."

first question:
I want to try this on Linux RedHat (newbie)....can this program be done using shell commands (bash or korn)? Or are those too 'low-level' and i should write it in JAVA on the linux machine?

second question:
once i do start the programming (regardless of language)....if i compile and run it on the RedHat linux machine any idea whether i can connect serial ports (RJ-11 connection) to a computer running Windows XP Pro and not have any interference with the different OSs?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

urgent advice needed - gcc

what does the statement : static char a = "a"; store in the executable image. ?? I need to make a command line parameter exist AFTER the program finishes execution.. so that when i run the code next time ( without recompiling ).. i can work with the paramter.. for example: ... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: a.k.aFireknight
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

'for' loop advice needed ....!!

/usr/sbin/ifconfig -a | grep "inet" | grep -v "inet6" | grep -v "127.0.0.1" | grep -v "0.0.0.0"|grep -v "192.168.100.2" | awk '{print $2}' I use above command to get IP addresses on AIX boxes.Values coming here are set to a variable "Host IPs.IP Addresses" in my fingerprinting engine. ... (4 Replies)