Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: mandrake/ linux partition
Special Forums UNIX Desktop Questions & Answers mandrake/ linux partition Post 47315 by jestra on Saturday 7th of February 2004 12:26:33 AM
Old 02-07-2004
Question mandrake/ linux partition

okay...

I want to learn linux, i have some books, but im one of those types who would rather get my hands dirty then read a textbook. dont get me wrong, i will spend some time reading.
I really want to install mandrake first, but because i have no experience with Linux or unix, i think im better off installing an emulator. this is also due to the fact that, for now, im afraid of messing up the whole partition. I read the other posts , and they say mandrake has its own "partition software" and it will partition itself. does it automatically detect the windows XP partition and make a new one around it? (i have xp by the way : ) if not how do i determine the correct partitioning of my hard drive?

For my situation, would you guys recommend mandrake or the knoppox emulator?

p.s. my objective is to have both O/S's on my pc with a dual booter if i choose mandrake

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Viewing unix jaz disk in Linux Mandrake..Can I??

Can I utilize Linux to read a Unix formatted Jaz drive in linux mandrake... Basically are the ext2 files compatible... I seem to be having a rather nasty time due to my ignorance on the platform... Help would be much apprecited Thanks !! T.J.:( ;) (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: mpmania
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

I need some help in Linux-Mandrake

OK, well i got it now, but im having alil but of trouble.....Im running mandrake and Im loving it, te little tux racer game...heh heh, but to the point here, Im trying to access my CD-ROM drive from the KDE desktop, and an error prompt shows up and says, "you do not have access rights to this..."... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: LolapaloL
2 Replies