Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Creating a multi-recipient email script Post 46991 by TheSunTheSea on Saturday 31st of January 2004 12:18:06 AM
Old 01-31-2004
Creating a multi-recipient email script

Well, I'm fairly new to shell scripting, so please excuse my newbieness Smilie

I was wondering if it was possible to create a shell script that retrieves a list of recipients in a list_file and sends a message out all at once?

An example of a list file would look similar to this:

$ cat data/list_file
user1@host_xyz nickname1
user2@host_abc nickname2
..... ......
userN@host_N nicknameN

As for the message file being emailed, I would LOVE to have it personalized in this fashion for my site:

To {NICKNAME}:

We appreciate your registration to the RSG board. Here are you authorization credentials:

username: {EMAIL}
password: {PASSWORD}

Your RSG account will expire on: {EXPIRATION_DATE}

Cheers,

System Admin

Now, I've only been playing around with shell scripts for a few days, but I know I can use "mkpasswd" to create a password for the user and "date" to calculate the expiration date (which is exactly one year after the email is sent). I'm also assuming that I can use "sed" to substitute the correct fields, correct?

Well, I really don't know how to begin on this. I think it would be great for my site if I can implement something like this. I'd much rather stick to this shell scripting idea since I haven't really touched on it before.

If anyone has some code I can look at or tips to give me, I would greatly appreciate it.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Unknown recipient when using metasend