Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: how to zero a file using csh
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers how to zero a file using csh Post 45998 by jayakhanna on Wednesday 7th of January 2004 07:53:04 AM
Old 01-07-2004
echo -n "" > somefile

Regards
JK

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sorting the Void File in CSH

First and foremost, this is not a homework for your information. I'm just new to using c-shell programming and I just wanted to make my life easier @ work. Say, the file contains the following: ID FILE NO. SL VP 1 1 22 33 1 2 ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: ilak1008
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Csh to check for existence of file

Hi, I would like to check the existence of files (doesn;t matter the number of files) in a directory. My file is named in the following manner (always ending with " myfile "). Can anybody give me some guidance? EG: abc1_myfile sdfr_myfile sffgd_myfile and so on ...... My... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: Raynon
9 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

csh failing to call an 2 embedded csh script

I have an extraordinary problem with a csh script.....(feel free to berate the use of this but I'm modifying an existing bunch of them) Anyway, I have a master csh script which in turn calls a second csh script. This second csh script is below. Within this second script are two compiled C++... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: pollsizer
1 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to Convert to CSH File

Hi Everyone, I have a body of code that I'd like to know how to convert to a csh file. In Unix, under a directory, I wish to ls into each of its subdirectories: In Unix prompt I type foreach i(*) foreach? ls $i foreach? end however, when I try to store this body of code in .csh: ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: tommms
2 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

CSH: step on the lines in a file