Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Writing Script?
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Writing Script? Post 45059 by wmosley2 on Sunday 14th of December 2003 07:18:24 PM
Old 12-14-2003
Writing Script?

Anyone have an example of a simple shell script that solicits a (Y)es or (N)o response from the user. If the response is 'Y' display a message on the screen that thanks the user for the positive response. If the response is 'N' display a message that thanks the user for the negative response. If the answer is anything else, redisplay the question.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

need help writing a script

Hello everyone. Well, I will get right to the point. I am new to Perl and trying to learn it as much as I can. I have been assigned the task of writing a perl script to extract information from firewall logs. Like I said, I am new to Perl and I am having a tough time because I think what I am... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: tarballed
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

help for writing a script

Hi, I need help writing a unix script to change the time in the server automatically when it reaches a specified time. Only on the 14th of april, when the time becomes midnight (00:00:00), I need the server to change the time automatically to 23:30:00 and start working on as usual with a... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: amodha
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

help writing script

hi all i am having a file(a fixed length file) of 28 bytes.The file has account number from 5th place to next 16 digits. the file looks like below, 58331600563588885696ACXT5263 58331600563588885697ACXT5263 58331600563588885698ACXT5263 i want to write a script which will extract the... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: dr46014
8 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Need help writing this script