Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Opening Files
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Opening Files Post 43045 by cbkihong on Monday 10th of November 2003 10:25:54 AM
Old 11-10-2003
ppt and doc are MS Office files on Windows. On Unix/Linux we do use OpenOffice to open MS Office files, simply because it is the best alternative for MSO on non-Windows platform. So you are on Windows, why not fire up MS Office to open them?

IMO cygwin does not give you a true Unix environment. If you want to try PC-based Unix, try some distro of Linux. IMO cygwin is good for being able to display forwarded X11 connections from remote servers without paying for an X emulator on Windows. Beyond that, messing with cygwin doesn't really worth the effort.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Opening files

I am very new to unix. I want to open a file and read one line in at a time. Can anybody help? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: saarshad001
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

opening non-html files in lynx??

when i try to open a txt file in lynx I need to provide the filename or use wildcards to open. Autocompletion doesn't work for some reason. Also, trying to open files like: .sh, .py etc. ends up in the following error: lynx: Start file could not be found or is not text/html or text/plain ... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: riwa
0 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Opening Files in append mode

Is there any other way to open a file in append mode without using C calls or >> redirection? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: vidhya
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Opening Files as command line arguments