Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting want to delete timestamp from todays file Post 42930 by maverick on Friday 7th of November 2003 06:44:23 AM
Old 11-07-2003
google iam sure this is a very effective solution but what i want is some command and not a shell script something using pipes
which i can run in any directory without bothering to change the
value of $pwd each time i run the script .iam unable to do the same \
thanks for the prompt reply :-)

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to list todays file

Hi Friends, How to list todays file from a directory listing of files for amny dates. I tried with the following options but not working : find . -name "esi01v*" -mtime 1 -ls find . -name "esi01v*" -ctime 1 -ls find . -name "esi01v*" -mtime 1 Please advise (19 Replies)
Discussion started by: unx100
19 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to grep a string in todays file

Hello guys - I am new to Unix. I am trying to understand how to grep a perticular string in todays file? I am trying this syntax but not getting what I am looking for: % grep `date '+%d/%b/%Y'` For instance there are 2 files generated today with same data. I am trying to find them and... (21 Replies)
Discussion started by: DallasT
21 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Delete log file entries based on the Date/Timestamp within log file

If a log file is in the following format 28-Jul-10 ::: Log message 28-Jul-10 ::: Log message 29-Jul-10 ::: Log message 30-Jul-10 ::: Log message 31-Jul-10 ::: Log message 31-Jul-10 ::: Log message 1-Aug-10 ::: Log message 1-Aug-10 ::: Log message 2-Aug-10 ::: Log message 2-Aug-10 :::... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: vikram3.r
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Getting a relative timestamp from timestamp stored in a file