Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Create new file by searching another file Post 42520 by Simerian on Thursday 30th of October 2003 12:34:50 PM
Old 10-30-2003
... or use awk to pattern matching on the words and perform a little bit of processing if required (e.g. putting the different matched lines into separate files).

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Append a field to the end of each line of a file based on searching another file.

Hi All, I have two comma separated value(CSV) files, say FileA and FileB. The contents looks like that shown below. FileA EmpNo,Name,Age,Sex, 1000,ABC,23,M, 1001,DES,24,F, ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ultimate
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

searching a log file and appending to a .txt file

I'm new to shell scripting and am writing a script to help me log the free memory and hd space on a server. As of now, the script just runs 'df -h' and appends the output to a file and then runs 'top' and appends the output to a log file. What I want to do, is have the script also search the... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: enator45
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

create file as variable for searching point

Hi Friends, I need expert help:), I have bellow script that function for searching string in multiple file, the script is working well. but I thing it still can be optimize since so many repetition in bellow command, where string that I marked BOLD italic is clue for what I am looking for... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: budi.mulya
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Searching for Log / Bad file and Reading and writing to a flat file