Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Software Router for Unix
Special Forums IP Networking Software Router for Unix Post 4250 by Neo on Sunday 22nd of July 2001 07:37:44 PM
Old 07-22-2001
You don't need routing software to do what you describe. This is simply done with static routes and a kernel configured for IP forwarding.

6 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Using UNIX as a router

Is there a way that i can create some start up disks for a computer with no hard drive to become a router? I know there are types of Linux OS's that can do it but i dont know which ones they are or where i can get them from. I am very new to the UNIX/Linux thing so I thank you for any help. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: e980238
2 Replies

2. SCO

Software router on SCO Unixware 2.X

Hi, I am trying to setup an old SCO Unix 2.x box to act as a router. I have got 2 network cards in the box. As far as I know, I need to setup "ip forwarding" and "routes". Can anyone tell me how to setup "ip forwarding" on SCO Unixware 2.X? (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: sreenir
0 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

UNIX scripts for router

Hi, I want to write a script in unix for my routers which will collect the output to a file.. how do i do that? thanks in advance (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: pasandhu
3 Replies

4. Programming

Master's degree proposal, Router software

Hello everyone, After 8 years of being out of school I am trying to start my Masters degree. This specific type of degree is being done only by research (research mode vs. coursework mode). I need to prepare a research proposal and send it to the school. I will need a professor to accept me as a... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: wmac
2 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

UNIX as ROUTER