Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers sed 's/~/\^J/g' how to get "^J" on same line as rest of the command. Post 4174 by LivinFree on Thursday 19th of July 2001 09:23:53 PM
Old 07-19-2001

What about using ctrl-v ctrl-j ? This works under bash in Linux, and ksh on HP-UX for sure. Ctrl-v makes the next character literal, not interpreted as the control-command.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

what is the 'whatis' command?

I am kind of new with Unix and I really need some help. Can you please tell me what the 'whatis' command is? and what does it do? Let's say that I have a file which I want to delete, what command will I need to use? If I have a directory that I want to delete all files from what command do... (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: mischiefdemon
11 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

'find' command question

my solaris text talks about the 'find' command... it further goes to talk about an "action" used with the find command. I am completely confused as to what the {} do with the find comand. the explanation is this: "A set of braces, {}, delimits where the file name is passed to the command from... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: xyyz
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Clearify what it means under 'WHAT' when hit the 'w'-command

I wonder how I shall read the result below, especially 'what' shown below. The result was shown when I entered 'w'. E.g what is TOP? What is gosh ( what does selmgr mean?)? login@ idle JCPU PCPU what 6:15am 7:04 39 39 TOP 6:34am 6:45 45 45 TOP 6:41am ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Aelgen
1 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

i don't understand the "sort" command