Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting I need to delete the content out of a number of logs Post 41109 by Jbolin01 on Monday 29th of September 2003 03:46:10 PM
Old 09-29-2003
I need to delete the content out of a number of logs

I'm just starting out in scripting (taking online classes) but I need to know how to clean out (delete) the content of a number of logs. All of the files end in 'trc'. Does anyone have a script or command (SED or AWK) I can use?

Julie

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Delete old logs

Hello All, We have a directory where we have old archived logs. They are numbered <logfile>.log.1 till <logfile>.log.100 or more. I just want to keep 10 log files and delete others through the script. Please advise. Thanks, Chiru (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: chiru_h
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Delete logs every 3 hours

Hi, I want to setup a cronjob that will delete logs every 2 hours. I have script that delete logs per day. but logging is too big and i want to run a conjob that will delete every 2 hours. this is my current command but it deletes on a per day basis. find . -name "*.log*" -o -name... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: tungaw2004
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Script to delete logs or take backups under specific user

I have to write a shell script like this-- 1) Utility will be run under the directory owner. 2) This utility will clean files in ABC/logs. And following logs will be backed up or deleted. Dispatcher Logs Middle tier Logs Sage log Sage monitor log Sage db clean up result log Core files ... (12 Replies)
Discussion started by: namishtiwari
12 Replies

4. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

how to archive logs older than 5 days & then delete them?