Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Simple Question ever asked
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Simple Question ever asked Post 41002 by RTM on Friday 26th of September 2003 01:34:10 PM
Old 09-26-2003
Ahh, I see said the blind man.

You setup a file called .plan in your home directory. Then when you use the finger command it will show info under plan.

$ cat .plan
who knows
$ finger myaccount
Login name: myaccount In real life: William Gates
Directory: /export/home/unixops Shell: /bin/ksh
On since Sep 26 09:02:40 on pts/0 from casqfe3.mycom.com
12 seconds Idle Time
No unread mail
Plan:
who knows
$

There is also a .project file that can be used. See the man page for finger.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Simple Question

Hi All, I am new to UNIX Shell Scripting. I want to know what is the difference between the following two statements. if and if Thanks & Regards (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: tvkamesh
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

a simple question

I have a problem, why should root access only be provided from a login on the console, and why should a user be forced to use "su" command to perform system maintenance, rather than logging in? (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: pnxi
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

I thought I asked the question before but I haven't sorry

:D could any one answer my previous question... just looked through logg and found no such question that I had asked.. please any input would help \.. :confused: (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: moxxx68
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

asked question about script before missed ansewr..