Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Problem with variable type
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Problem with variable type Post 39991 by Perderabo on Saturday 6th of September 2003 03:32:15 PM
Old 09-06-2003
For starters, expr only works with integers.

I'm not a csh expert, but your syntax looks wrong. I would have expected that you need to do something like:

set Xmin = `sort $OUTFILE | head -1 | awk '{printf("%10.3f\n", $1)};'`

Your algorithm is extremely inefficient. You should not sort the file at all. Initialize things by setting your min to a very large number and your max to a very small number (negative, but with a large absolute value). Then loop reading each value. If the value is less than the current min, it becomes the new min. If the value is larger than the current max, it becomes the new max. You should be able to get all 6 extrema with one pass of the unsorted file.

I would definately switch languages, probably to C. You really want a language with built in floating point support.

But you can do floating arithmetic by using bc. You need to echo in expressions and read the result. Try this command:
echo 1.5 + .5 | bc
to see what I mean.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to get type of variable in perl

hello all how can i get the type of variable in perl like typeof(var); in javascript for instance ? to know if the variable is int or string ? (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: umen
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

getting type of variable

Hello: Is there any way to tell the type of a passed or entered variable, if it is a string or integer,...etc. Thanks a lot (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: aladdin
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Stuck on a matching, copying type problem