Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: making use of a Semaphore
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting making use of a Semaphore Post 38908 by FDavid on Wednesday 30th of July 2003 06:29:31 AM
Old 07-30-2003
Java An example

i have a c menu script in csh that has the following functions: sort, grep, append. two of these are my client files. i have a data server file that these client files can perform their functions on. The semaphore must ensure mutual exclusion when both clients attempt to perform a function at the same time.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

semaphore

hi, is there any command where we can monitor semaphores? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: yls177
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Semaphore

Hi, I'm new to UNIX. I need to know what's a semaphore Do reply. Thanks VJ (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: vjsony
3 Replies

3. Programming

Example for use of kernel semaphore

Hi friends I'm doing a project and in that I need to use kernel semaphore but I'm not very clear about how to use it. I've used system V semaphore. What I find difficult to understand is that in system V semaphore, a semaphore set is registered to the system (the semid returned from semget call... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Rakesh Ranjan
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Semaphore

Hi, I am looking to use a semaphore for the first time in one of my scripts. I am just wondering if there are any simple examples or tutorials around? I am a beginner so the simpler the better :) Thanks -Jaken (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Jaken
2 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

semaphore

what is semaphore? can any body explain it in a more simple way than the manual ?? replies appreciated Regards raguram R (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: raguramtgr
7 Replies

6. Programming

Semaphore