Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers CTRL+H versus ^? versus BACKSPACE Post 38618 by Cameron on Monday 21st of July 2003 10:32:50 PM
Old 07-21-2003
I think it's stty erase=^H , give that a try - I'm not a 100% sure.

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

<LF> versus <CR>/<LF>

Hello, Can someone explain how to distinguish a LF character and a CR/LF character in a text file from a shell script. Thanks (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: jerardfjay
1 Replies

2. AIX

AIX versus Networks

HI folks, Actually i have a network engineer having 2 and 1/2 years of experience in cisco having CCNA certification also. Now my company offering me to move to AIX field. I am new to AIX and do not know more about that field. So i want a suggestion from you peoples, that I have to join AIX or... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: rawatmohinder
5 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Disable and Enable Backspace or Ctrl^H in vi

Could anybody tell me how I can disable or enable the backspace key in vi editor. I would like to feel the essence of the commands of vi editor but as I have the latest version and it is supporting the backspace key. I do it on promp using the command stty erase - This command stops the... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: mobile01
5 Replies

4. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

cpio versus cp

I am copying a file system to another one. someone suggest me use find . -print |cpio -pdmv but I think cp -r should do the same thing. Am I right? In addition, by using " find . ", I got all the file names,, why do I have to use the -print option? Thanks a lot! (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: fredao
1 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Awk Versus Cut