Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers sed or grep or perl combine two lines Post 37758 by artjaniger on Friday 27th of June 2003 01:09:25 PM
Old 06-27-2003
i have a large file with embedded sequential lines containing the word "expected" or "received":
for example
line 1 some data
line 2 some more data
line 3 123expected456
line 4 123received456
line 5 more data
line 6 more data
line 7 123expected
line 8 456 expected
line 9 777 received
I want to capture lines 3 and 4, lines 8 and 9
(i. e., 2 lines in a row, the first containing expected,
the second containing received)

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

SImple HELP! how to combine two lines together using sed or awk..

hi..im new to UNIX... ok i have this information in the normal shell... there are 2 lines display like this: h@hotmail.com k@hotmail.com i want it to display like this with a space betweem them h@hotmail.com k@hotmail.com the information is stored in a text file.... anyone... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: forevercalz
10 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

sed, grep, cut or combine?

I am a beginner at shell scripting, actually i am working on my first script right now. Anyway i have searched the world how to grep two letters from each word (it will always just be two words). For example: Example Blablabla I want my script to cut out Ex (from the first word) and Bl... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: maskot
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

[Help] PERL Script - grep multiple lines

Hi Gurus, I need some help with the "grep" command or whatever command that you think suitable for me. I'm about to write a perl script to extract a report from the system and submit it to the end users. The input for the script will consist of 3 element. 1) Generation ID 2) Month 3) Year... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: miskin
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting