Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Newbie question about difference between executable file and ordinary file Post 367 by Balaji on Tuesday 28th of November 2000 10:09:57 PM
Old 11-28-2000
Question

Hi,

I am newbie in unix and just started learning it. I want to know what is the difference between an executable file and a file (say text file). How to create executable file? What is the extension for that? How to differentiate ? How does it get executed?

Thanks

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

newbie question about the "bin" file

Hello, I am new to the Unix/Linux world. This is a typical "for-dummies" question. I was trying to setup Java JDK 1.3 on my Red Hat Linux and downloaded a file called "j2sdk-1_3_1_01-linux-i386.bin" on my usr/src directory. Then I do a "chmod a+x j2sdk-1_3_1_01-linux-i386.bin". Then I tried... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: jaywang
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

identify whether idrectory or ordinary file

What are the different ways to identify a given file is an ordinary file or a directory? Yes we can do it by giving the command : ls -l <filename> What else? (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: surjyap
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Executable file

Hi everybody: I have strange problem. I have compiled a source code and created an executable file. This file I can use it into my PC, but when I copy this executable to my laptop this one doesn't work and the system tell me: bash: ./sbdart_unix: cannot execute binary file Somebody can... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: tonet
3 Replies

4. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

How can i read a non text file in unix - ELF-64 executable object file - IA64

The binary file is ELF-64 executable object file - IA64. How i know that the source is Is there any comamnd in unix i can read these kind of files or use a thirty party software? Thanks for your help (8 Replies)