Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers New Sparc box wont boot. Keyboard? Post 36570 by TioTony on Friday 30th of May 2003 11:38:37 PM
Old 05-31-2003
Hi Curt,
You will need a Sun keyboard unless you just happen to have some sort of serial console port available. You can try using Reflections or similar software with a Null modem cable hooked from your PC to the serial port on the Ultra. I haven't done this for a million years but it should work. If you have a dumb terminal, that will work. A digi will work. I know most people don't have stuff like this sitting around their house, but some do.
CUL8R,
Tony

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Cybersecurity

Firewall for Sparc Spo~aris Box

Hello, I in the process of installing a firewall. I'm new to this topic and would like to know if someone can point me in the right direction. I'm running Solaris 8. Thanks in advance. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: sunoracle
2 Replies

2. HP-UX

Wont boot

I am new to HP-UX. I have a external SCSI drive with HP-UX on it. I was trying to clone it to another external scsi drive. I added the new drive to existing LVM. Then I used dd command. But it failed with I/O error. Now I cannot boot it from original drive. It's saying panic: LVM: Configuration... (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: forhad
11 Replies

3. SCO

Boot 5.0.7 in RAM and change keyboard

hi I've boot OpenServer Release 5.0.7 from a setup CD and started "Execute a shell on ramdisk filesystem". Howto change keyboard from american to swiss german? (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: ccc
0 Replies

4. Solaris

Having problems logging into a SPARC box

I have a Solaris 10 Sparc box that has suddenly stopped allowing users to ssh into the box. I've connected a laptop and can access the box as root using a serial connector. While performing the command svcs -xv, this is my output: maintenance 13:29:49 svc:/system/basicreg:default... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: goose25