Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Solaris 8 Setup
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Solaris 8 Setup Post 34668 by caphector on Tuesday 4th of March 2003 04:37:10 PM
Old 03-04-2003
Solaris 8 Setup

I recently picked up a Sparc Station 20, and installed a fresh copy of Solaris 8 on it.

I've been attempting to set it up so it recognizes/is recognized by the rest of my network so I can setup a PPPoE connection.

According to ifconfig -a, I've got an IP address. According to dmesg | grep le0, the interface reports "No carrier - cable disconnected or hub link disabled?"

Since I'm a Solaris newbie, I don't know where go from here. I've tried other answers posted to this forum with no result.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Solaris UNIX Printer Setup

I have a HP laserjet 5Si MX on a Microsoft network that I need to route my print output to. I have setup a host that amounts to just the ip address of the printer, and created a printer that is connected to that host. My print is sent directly to the printer, but it is not formatted correctly. ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: pkappaz
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Solaris USR5610B Setup...

I need help with the new modem. The following has been done: Installed the modem in the 6th PCI slot Setup COM2 for: > 38400 (baud rate) > Modem - Dial out Only (template) Ran: #tip /dev/cua/b connected The console stops responding at this point. HELP! :( ////////// --... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: mslightn
2 Replies

3. Solaris

modem setup solaris 10 x86

I,am trying to configure an external multitech 5656zdx modem for dial in mode on a serial port using a dell 1800 server with solaris 10 for intel as the OS. It answers only once, further attemps fail, I have to reboot system before it will work again. I also used an older model 3334zdx which... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: albm
1 Replies