Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers questions on gentoo iso installation Post 33790 by frznmeatcicle on Sunday 19th of January 2003 07:55:33 PM
Old 01-19-2003
Data questions on gentoo iso installation

I'm a brand new Intro to Unix to student, and what I'm trying to do is install Gentoo Linux onto a Dell Latitude (currently w/ out any OS). I've already burned the iso to cd and am wondering... All the reading I'm doing is talking about partioning, since this dell won't be having a pre-existing OS, partioning will not be needed. So... Do i just drop the cd in, start up the laptop and install it? or does the iso need an pre-existing os?

I know this all sounds lreally lame, but like I said, I'm an intro student and looking for something to just use to learn off of.

7 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Installation Questions

I've just downloaded BigSlack32 its a version of Linux from slackware (as you may know), however I can't find any setup program if there is one (be gentle with me I have had the burden like many others of growing up with Bill Gates propaganda). I also have other questions here are a run down: ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: OSNovice
3 Replies

2. Linux Benchmarks

AMD 1.2 Gentoo 1.4.3.8p1

Notes: CPU/Speed: 1195.993 Ram: 503 Megabytes Motherboard: biostart m7vkb Bus: Cache:256 KB Controller:VT82C586A Disk:Maxtor 93073U6 Load: Kernel:2.4.20-xfs-r3 Kernel ELF?: yes pgms: Results: BYTE UNIX Benchmarks (Version 3.11) System -- Linux box 2.4.20-xfs-r3 #1... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: tnorth
1 Replies

3. Gentoo

Gentoo problem, X is not working

I got Gentoo installed with only a few minor problems, but those are the worse right? :p Anyway, I can boot into a terminal and could could fine into TWM (yuck). So I emerged XFCE4 by doing this: use="-gnome -kde" emerge xfce I then inserted this into ~./xinitrc : ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: EDUD LIVE