Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Getting all file names in a folder. Post 3305 by adadevil on Thursday 28th of June 2001 01:29:34 PM
Old 06-28-2001
Error Getting all file names in a folder.

Hi All,
I need help to create a shell script that does following:

- do ls -1 and let all file names in the current folder
- do wc for each file and if wc > 0 then send a mail.

I am new to unix and do not know how to get filename one by one in a loop, so that wc can be done. I have done rest of the things but just looping all files is left.

Please help!

Thanks

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Working with folder names

I have the following directory structure: /maindir /maindir/product1/ /maindir/product1/type1 /maindir/product1/type2 /maindir/product1/type3 /maindir/product2/ /maindir/product2/type1 /maindir/product2/type2 /maindir/product2/type3 /maindir/product2/type4 ... I'm able to traverse... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: ricksj
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Script to move files with similar names to folder

I have in directory /media/AUDIO/WAVE many .mp3 files with names like: my filename_01of02.mp3 my filename_02of02.mp3 Your File_01of06.mp3 Your File_02of06.mp3 etc.... In the same directory, /media/AUDIO/WAVE, I have many folders with names like 9780743579490 9780743579491 etc.. Inside... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: glev2005
7 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

editing names of files in multiple folder

I have 1000's of directories which is named as numbers. Each directory contains multiple files. Each of these directories have a file named "att". I need to rename all the att files by adding the directory name followed by "_" then att for each of the directories. Directories 120 att... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Lucky Ali
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Renaming File Names in a folder/Dir