Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Give us your poor, your tired, your huddled Admins... War Stories Post 30646 by Vishnu on Thursday 24th of October 2002 05:29:43 PM
Old 10-24-2002
I'm a no administrator (though I'm trying to become one), but I too have a snippet to share...

Right from my college days I was exposed to UNIX systems and even if I was not from comp sci background was attracted to the philosophy of the system as thought of by its designers - Thompson, Ritchi, McIlroy and all...

So when I went to my first job in a consulting company.. I found an atmosphere where my European client had a production and test UNIX boxes which were connected to IBM SNA / CPI-CC to his SAP R/2 production system. I was very happy that I can make use of my UNIX skills. Yes indeed my first assignment was to write automation shell scripts which post/extract EDI messages to/from SAP - UNIX. These scripts used to call C programs using CPI-C interface.

I also learned CPI-C programming, which involves writing your own C code including the CPI-C interface headers and sources - in all there were 8 .C sources and 4 headers, requiring makefiles to do the compilation. There were production C executables doing daily updates and extracts to SAP.

One day I was making some compilation on the test box, while I was monitoring the production box as a privileged user in another terminal. I inadvertently executed a makefile with the same name on the production box which luckily didn't overwrite any existing executable. But my heart stopped thumping, as I had no idea what the script did.. but I had to spend extra hours that day reading the whole script checking for paths and date/time of modifications...

from that day on I was extra careful ascertaining which terminal I'm using for prod/test boxes...

2 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

regexp: really tired, guru help needed...