Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Beginners Questions & Answers Manipulate o/p of a Linux command Post 303045613 by jim mcnamara on Friday 3rd of April 2020 10:35:26 AM
Old 04-03-2020
Try

Code:
pgrep -l  rpm | while read pid
do
  kill $pid
done

This User Gave Thanks to jim mcnamara For This Post:

7 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Manipulate files

Hi everybody: I have a problem. I have a output files which have this pattern: number1 --space block1a - 7rows/10columns/65elements --space block1b - 7rows/10columns/65elements --space block1c - 7rows/10columns/65elements --space number2 --space block2a - 7rows/10columns/65elements... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: tonet
0 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sed command to find, manipulate and replace a number

Hi, Im very new to the world of sed so I'm really not even sure if this is possible. What i need to do is read from a flat file and every time i see this line: VAL=123,456 I need to change 456 to 457 for every occurence of this line in the file. The numbers 123 and 456 are different for... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: LT_2008
6 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

manipulate & format the output of spool command

Hi All, I am spooling the data some sql queries into a single file but wanted to know how to format the data of the file generated by spool. #!/bin/sh unset -f USAGE USAGE () { clear echo "############################USAGE#######################\n" echo "Incorrect number of... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ss_ss
2 Replies

4. Programming

Manipulate the Linux ARP Cache in C

Hello, I need help on how to "access" or manipulate the Linux ARP Cache in C, here is the description of the project i'm working in: There are a lot of tools that analize ARP frames and send an e-mail to the sysadmin, that's easy. What i want to do is to inspect every ARP frame that arrives... (18 Replies)
Discussion started by: semash!
18 Replies