Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Grep Command Help
Top Forums UNIX for Beginners Questions & Answers Grep Command Help Post 303045116 by DanilOnTheSky on Thursday 12th of March 2020 07:14:38 AM
Old 03-12-2020
Grep Command Help

Hello Unix Forum,

I am trying to create an bash script to expand a LVM disk, I mean, trying to automatize all the process from the video bellow:
Youtube search:

How To Extend LVM Disk For Linux Virtual Machine On VMware

At this point, I am very new in bash script and I am facing this just as a try, I don't know if I will get the final result that I need.

Well, I am stuck at the grep option bellow:

Code:
#!/bin/bash
# Increase LVM Disk
echo"$(fdisk -l)"
echo Which disk you want to increase the size? "(Please provide the full path, Example: /dev/sda2):"
read disk1
diskcompare="$(fdisk -l | grep "$disk1 " -o --max-count=1)"
if [ "$diskcompare" ==  "$disk1 " ]; then
echo"Valid Disk."
else
echo"Invalid Disk."
fi

I would like to compare the path (disk1) with the fdisk -l command to check if it is a valid disk.

The problem is that the way that it is writed at the moment it accept you to continue the script if you not type the entire path, example:
Code:
[root@linuxtest ~]# ./test.sh

Disk /dev/sda: 16.1 GB, 16106127360 bytes, 31457280 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk label type: dos
Disk identifier: 0x000d345c

Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1   *        2048     2099199     1048576   83  Linux
/dev/sda2         2099200    16777215     7339008   8e  Linux LVM
/dev/sda3        16777216    31457279     7340032   8e  Linux LVM

Disk /dev/mapper/centos-root: 14.2 GB, 14164164608 bytes, 27664384 sectors

Disk /dev/mapper/centos-swap: 859 MB, 859832320 bytes, 1679360 sectors
Which disk you want to increase the size? (Please provide the full path, Example: /dev/sda2):
/sda2
Valid Disk.