Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Beginners Questions & Answers Replace a field in a comma separated file Post 303044857 by H squared on Thursday 5th of March 2020 10:17:05 AM
Old 03-05-2020
Thanks.
I shall try and update.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vgersh99
it's up to you to implement the shell wrapper script, but...
for the 3 fields (5,8 and 12) to be modified, awk should be called as:
Code:
awk -v fld='5,8,12' -f hsquared.awk myFile.csv

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Its PERL + Comma separated seventh field

Hi Friends, I'm working on a perl script, which seems to be simpler. But I'm very new to PERL scripting. I have a comma separated data file, from which I need to extract only the seventh field data out of available twenty fields to an array using perl. Any help would be much appreciated. ... (17 Replies)
Discussion started by: ganapati
17 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Replace comma by space for specified field in record

Hi, i want to replace comma by space for specified field in record, i mean i want to replace the commas in the 4th field by space. and rest all is same throught the record. the record is 16458,99,001,"RIMOUSKI, QC",418,"N",7,EST,EDT,902 16458,99,002,"CHANDLER,... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: raghavendra.cse
5 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to format file into comma separated field

Guys, Need you help, i have a a file content that look like this. Nokia 3330 <spaces><spaces><more spaces>+76451883874 Nokia 3610 +87467361615 so on and so forth, - there are so many spaces in between. - e.g.... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: shtobias
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Inserting string in between field in comma separated file