Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Beginners Questions & Answers Help using combining variables with sed command (RHEL 7) Post 303043298 by isey78 on Thursday 23rd of January 2020 11:01:35 AM
Old 01-23-2020
Help using combining variables with sed command (RHEL 7)

Here is the whole script, very simple, but I am just learning

Code:
ROK_NO=$1
RPT=/tmp/test
sed -E '/^SELECT/ s/(.{23}).{8}/\1'"$ROK_NO"' /' $RPT
echo $RPT

When I run this I get

Code:
$ bash rok.sh 2388085
: No such file or directory
/tmp/test

When I type the command in console, it works (so I know there is a file there)

Code:
sed -E '/^SELECT/ s/(.{23}).{7}/\12388099 /' /tmp/test

Here is what the test file looks like before
Code:
SELECT:  ROK_NUMBER EQ 2388090

Here is what it looks like after
Code:
SELECT:  ROK_NUMBER EQ 2388099

That great but I want to use a script so I pass that number as an argument and use the $RPT variable? I'm sure it's something to do with the characters in the sed command and how I'm incorrectly using " vs ' but I cannot figure it out after hours of fiddling :/

Last edited by Scrutinizer; 01-23-2020 at 01:16 PM.. Reason: Additional code tags

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

assigning variables in sed command

I need to assign a variable within a variable in a sed command. I tried doing the following in c shell. set left = 1 set right = 2 set segment = qwerty sed -n -e "/$segment{$left}/,/$segment{$right}/p" file.txt what is wrong with this syntax? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: wxornot
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

sed command not work with variables?

I am trying to write a simple script which will take a variable with sed to take a line out of a text and display it #!/bin/sh exec 3<list while read list<&3 do echo $list sed -n '$list p'<list2 done this does not work, yet when I replace the $list variable from the sed command and... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: MaestroRage
1 Replies