Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Beginners Questions & Answers Tips/advise on alternative to doing egrep -v Post 303042266 by MadeInGermany on Friday 20th of December 2019 02:04:10 AM
Old 12-20-2019
I think your current concern is about overlong lines.
The | divider is an egrep thing.
In grep and fgrep you can have a newline.
Code:
fgrep -v "192.168.1.101
192.168.1.123" output.txt

But you should also be concerned about exactness.
The fgrep takes a dot as is, while in grep and egrep a dot means "any character". So fgrep is more exact here.
Still each search item can be a part of the whole, for example
fgrep "10.168.1.13" can find "10.168.1.13" and "110.168.1.13" and "10.168.1.136".

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

I am one of the newbies, please advise

I am new to UNIX and Linux. I have some experiences with Windows server. I am thinking to start with those OS (Unix/Linux) and more specifically with the OS for the server. however, i have no idea which one would i start first, unix or linux? Because i also dont know how they are different. ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: sanlen
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Egrep cheat sheet anywhere? Looking for meaning of egrep -c

Hi I've been searching google and have not found what egrep -c means. Does anyone know where I can get a cheat sheet or what that -c means? thanks, Linda (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: leelm
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

your advise on mysql, please

My intention is to set up a mysql on unix. Could you provide some info, please, useful for realization of the plan (other than "read the documentation" that will be done anyway)? vaguely yours` sehrguey (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: serguey
2 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

search ")" with egrep - egrep: syntax error