Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Beginners Questions & Answers Reading File line by line - Issue Post 303041060 by sarathy_a35 on Wednesday 13th of November 2019 09:09:44 AM
Old 11-13-2019
yes i need to read each line from file and want to use each line as Input data.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Reading a file line by line and processing for each line

Hi, I am a beginner in shell scripting. I have written the following script, which is supposed to process the while loop for each line in the sid_home.txt file. But I'm getting the 'end of file' unexpected for the last line. The file sid_home.txt gets generated as expected, but the script... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: sagarparadkar
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

KSH: Reading a file line by line into multiple arrays

Hi - I have a file that contains data in this format:- #comment value1 value2 value3 #comment value4 value5 value6 value7 #comment value8 value9 I need to read value1, value2 and value3 into one array, value4 value5 value6 and value7 into another array and value8 and value9 into a 3rd... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: sniper57
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Issue in reading file line by line

I have a file something like: a &nbsp&nbsp&nbsp b c &nbsp&nbsp d sdfsdf &nbsp&nbsp f f &nbsp f f &nbsp fffff dfdf Now when i read it as while read line do echo $line done< file I get the o/p as a b c d sdfsdf f f f f fffff dfdf (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: Shivdatta
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

[Solved] Problem in reading a file line by line till it reaches a white line

So, I want to read line-by-line a text file with unknown number of files.... So: a=1 b=1 while ; do b=`sed -n '$ap' test` a=`expr $a + 1` $here do something with b etc done the problem is that sed does not seem to recognise the $a, even when trying sed -n ' $a p' So, I cannot read... (3 Replies)