Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Using awk instead of grep -f
Top Forums UNIX for Beginners Questions & Answers Using awk instead of grep -f Post 303040821 by ahfze on Thursday 7th of November 2019 09:40:25 AM
Old 11-07-2019
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neo
Hey.

What OS and shell are you using?
Debian bash

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk or grep

Urgent File contains: baba¦kkek¦aklk¦¦¦ bnbnbn¦vmvm¦ File name: Openfile I want to find number of pipe(¦) symbols in a file(count).That is total count of pipes in a file or a line. I dont want number of line it occurs. (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: tkbharani
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

[grep awk cut] > awk

Hi, I'm very new to scripting. grep $s $filename | awk '{print $2}' | cut -c 1-8 How can I optimize this using a single awk? I tried: awk '/$s/ {print $2}' $filename | cut -c 1-8 However didn't work, I think the awk is not recognizing $s and the verbal is something else. (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: firdousamir
6 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

grep and awk

I have grep MHz psrinfo-v.out it gives The i386 processor operates at 3000 MHz, The i386 processor operates at 3000 MHz, The i386 processor operates at 3000 MHz, The i386 processor operates at 3000 MHz, how to get instead of these 4 lines: CPU speed: 3000 MHz i.e. CPU... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: melanie_pfefer
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

MEM=`ps v $PPID| grep -i db2 | grep -v grep| awk '{ if ( $7 ~ " " ) { print 0 } else

Hi Guys, I need to set the value of $7 to zero in case $7 is NULL. I've tried the below command but doesn't work. Any ideas. thanks guys. MEM=`ps v $PPID| grep -i db2 | grep -v grep| awk '{ if ( $7 ~ " " ) { print 0 } else { print $7}}' ` Harby. (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: hariza
4 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Is it better to grep and pipe to awk, or to seach with awk itself