Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: [python] merge pdf files.
Top Forums Programming [python] merge pdf files. Post 303039514 by SaltCityScripts on Tuesday 8th of October 2019 04:47:23 PM
Old 10-08-2019
[python] merge pdf files.

First off I am very new to python but not to scripting I have done a lot of bash scripting.

I need to create a python script for work that will combine multiple pdf files into one pdf file and archive both the combined file and the original pdf files.

So we receive zip files from a client (the file name will either begin with a number #########.zip or MU3-#######-#.zip) and I need to unzip the zip file and use the file name as the name of the combined file.

example
MU3-6493489-1.zip

when I unzip this file I have the following pdf files.:
MU3-6493489-1_006493489-001_ARINV.pdf
MU3-6493489-1_3461.pdf
MU3-6493489-1_7501.pdf
MU3-6493489-1_CI_2.pdf
MU3-6493489-1_CI_3.pdf
MU3-6493489-1_CI_4.pdf
MU3-6493489-1_CI_5.pdf
MU3-6493489-1_CI.pdf

I need to combine all of these pdf file into a new file called MU3-6493489-1_combined.pdf

I did find a script online that has the basic stuff but it will not work for my needs.

Code:
#pdf_merger.py

import glob
from PyPDF2 import PdfFileMerger

def merger(output_path, imput_paths):
    pdf_merger = PdfFileMerger()
    file_handles = []

for path in input_paths:
        pdf_merger.append(path)

with open(ouput_path, 'wb') as fileobj:
        pdf_merger.write(fileobj)

if _name_ == '_main_':
    paths = glob.glob('MU3_*.pdf')
    paths.sort()
    merger('pdf_merger2.pdf', paths)

This is not my coding and I am not attached to it in anyway. I know I will have to make a lot of changes to get that to work.

If anyone has any thoughts on how to do this I would be forever thankful and so would my work.

--- Post updated at 08:47 PM ---

on a side note: this can be in either perl or python. I just thought python would be better to learn.

I was not able to edit my original post.