Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Need bash script to use a sed command as a variable Post 303038029 by RudiC on Wednesday 21st of August 2019 05:15:27 PM
Old 08-21-2019
Could be simplified as you want to quit after the first ip encountered:
Code:
ip=$(sed -n '/inet */ {s///; p; q}' file)

This User Gave Thanks to RudiC For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

BASH -- sed -- variable

Hi, I'm new at bash scripting -- can anyone here help me about the sed command? I need to be able to edit and or delete a text from an outside file ie file.txt -- I'm passing a variable and not a string I was thinking of something like echo -n "What do you want to edit?: " read edit sed... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Imajean
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

passing variable from bash to perl from bash script

Hi All, I need to pass a variable to perl script from bash script, where in perl i am using if condition. Here is the cmd what i am using in perl FROM_DATE="06/05/2008" TO_DATE="07/05/2008" "perl -ne ' print if ( $_ >="$FROM_DATE" && $_ <= "$TO_DATE" ) ' filename" filename has... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: arsidh
10 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Special characters in a bash variable in sed

Hello, I am trying the following: echo __CHANGEME__ >> testfile VAR1="&&&" sed -i "s|__CHANGEME__|${VAR1}|" testfile cat testfile This results in testfile containing __CHANGEME____CHANGEME____CHANGEME__ Whereas I want it to result in &&& I understand that if VAR1="\&\&\&" then... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: linuxnewbeee
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Insert a line including Variable & Carriage Return / sed command as Variable