Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Beginners Questions & Answers Email shell script return code Post 303036577 by midhun3108 on Wednesday 3rd of July 2019 09:03:51 AM
Old 07-03-2019
Email shell script return code

Hi All,

I'm new to unix and I have a requirement to execute a shell script and get the return code/Exit code and send it in email. Meaninig we execute a script which in turn execute a shel script and fetches it\s return code and send it to email. I tried the code below as :
Code:
output_file=$(mktemp /var/tmp/TestM/Program/script.X1.out)
php /var/tmp/TestM/CATProgram/MLookup.sh >>"$output_file"
ret=$?
if [ $ret -ne 0 ]; then
  echo "MLookup.sh failed (status $ret), see the output in $output_file"
fi

I know that we can send email using mail -s "text". But the above script is not saving the return code in the file. Please help on the above requirement.
Thanks,
Midhun

Last edited by jim mcnamara; 07-03-2019 at 10:19 AM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Store return code of shell script in oracle table

Hi friends, I have to do the following things : 1) there should be a shell script returning the returning the return code of the script. and i have to add some more details like on which machine is has run , at what time and other details and then using plsql i have to add a row to Oracle... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: sveera
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Capture Oracle return code in shell script

I am using the following code in my shell script list=`sqlplus -s $user/$pwd@$dbms<<EOF WHENEVER SQLERROR EXIT SQL.SQLCODE set pagesize 0 feedback off verify off heading off echo off select * from control_tbl where src_nm=$3 and extrct_nm=$4; exit SQL.SQLCODE; EOF` ERROR=$?... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Vikas Sood
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

return code from script