Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Beginners Questions & Answers Find and copy .zip file based on today's date Post 303036551 by midhun3108 on Tuesday 2nd of July 2019 04:14:51 AM
Old 07-02-2019
Find and copy .zip file based on today's date

Hi Team,
I'm new to unix and i have a requirement to copy or move files from one directory to another based on current date mentioned in the .zip file name. Note that i need to copy only the recent zip file. please help me with the code
i tried the code as:
Code:
#! /usr/bin/sh
find /var/tmp/NewFile/TestM/ -name '*.txt' -mtime 0 | while read FILE
do
        echo "Found file $FILE"
done

But, this gives only if the file is found or not but i need to copy as well if zip file is found.
Data :
Code:
-rw-rw-rw-   1 user  user     1697 Jul 02 09:57 file_02072019.txt
-rw-rw-rw-   1 user  user      103 Jul 02 09:57 file_02072019.zip

Moderator's Comments:
Mod Comment edit by bakunin: please use CODE-tags for code, data and terminal output. Thank you.

Last edited by bakunin; 07-02-2019 at 06:22 AM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Script to copy log files with today's date

I am a newbie to scripting. I need a korn shell script to copy log files of current day to archive folder and rename with current days date stamp. I would really appreciate your help. File structure is as follows. Everyday files get overwritten, so I need copy to a archive directory and... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: mdncan
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Identify log files based on time stamp,zip and then copy..HELP

Hi All, PFB is a requirement. I am new to shell scripting. So plz help. It would be highly appreciated. 1. choose all the log files based on a particular date (files location is '/test/domain')--i.e,we should choose all the files that are modified on 29th November, neither 28th nor 30th 2.... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: skdas_niladri
3 Replies