Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Solaris Assigning proc_owner privilege to particular user in RBAC Post 303036150 by sb200 on Sunday 16th of June 2019 12:39:59 PM
Old 06-16-2019
Assigning proc_owner privilege to particular user in RBAC

Hi

I need to assign proc_owner privilege to particular user through RBAC. How can I assign this privilege to user, I need help on this.
Further I need to understand if I give this proc_owner privilege to particular user, what kind of control user will get on other user or system processes which are not owned by him. What are the risks involved if we assign this privilege to user.

Regards

Last edited by hicksd8; 06-16-2019 at 02:50 PM.. Reason: improve readability

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Write privilege for user

Is it possible to grant write privileges to a user on a directory with out having to add the user to a group or make the user the owner of the directory? My background is in Windows and in Windows you can grant specific privileges to a user without having to put the user in a group or making the... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: here2learn
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

RBAC: create a user to shut the server

Hi, I have created a user to shutdown the server using RBAC. Here are my steps: 1. roleadd -u 1000 -g 10 -d /home/stopsys -m stopsys 2. passwd stopsys 3. edit /etc/security/prof_attr to include: Shut:::able to shut the server: 4. modrole -P Shut stopsys 5. useradd -u 1001 -g 10 -d... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: chaandana
2 Replies

3. AIX

[Help] Give privilege to an ordinary user

I'm trying to give a non-root user the right to start IBM HTTP Server, the web server is listening on port 80, but for AIX, ports under 1024 are privilege ports which can be used only by root. /usr/IBMIHS/bin# ./apachectl start (13)Permission denied: make_sock: could not bind to address :::80... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ibmer414
1 Replies