Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Beginners Questions & Answers Assign a command to a variable - Help Post 303035118 by nezabudka on Wednesday 15th of May 2019 01:13:19 AM
Old 05-15-2019
true way
Code:
SSH_COMMAND="ssh -o ConnectTimeout=2 \$SERVER \$AS_SUDO \$COMMANDS"
eval $SSH_COMMAND

--- Post updated at 08:13 ---

or in single quotes
Code:
SSH_COMMAND='ssh -o ConnectTimeout=2 $SERVER $AS_SUDO $COMMANDS'
eval $SSH_COMMAND

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

assign subst|grep|sed command result to a variable

Hi, I'm quite new to scripting and I want to modify following line of an existing script: MYVAR=`subst |grep 'L:\\\:' | sed -e 's/.*\\\//'`; What I have to do is to use the content of a variable instead of the constant expression 'L:\\\:' as the grep string to be matched. Assuming I already... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: snowbiker99
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

assign awk command result to a variable

#!/bin/sh # ## MYSTRING = `awk '/myApp.app/' /Users/$USER/Library/Preferences/loginwindow.plist` if then echo String not found defaults write /Users/$USER/Library/Preferences/loginwindow AutoLaunchedApplicationDictionary -dict-add -string Hide -bool YES -string Path -string... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: dedmakar
9 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Assign bash command to variable

Hi I am trying to write a function that needs to be able to assign the last run shell command to a variable. The actual command string itself not the exit code of the command. I am using the bash command recall ability to do this as follows: alias pb='ps | grep ash' ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Moxy
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to assign the result of a SQL command to more than one variable in shell script.