Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Beginners Questions & Answers Assign a command to a variable - Help Post 303035096 by nezabudka on Tuesday 14th of May 2019 03:32:46 PM
Old 05-14-2019
Code:
ssh -o ConnectTimeout=2 ${SERVER} ${AS_SUDO} ${COMMANDS}

I think so
Code:
ssh -o ConnectTimeout=2 ${SERVER} "${AS_SUDO} ${COMMANDS}"

--- Post updated at 22:23 ---

No, the variable $SERVER is not set!

--- Post updated at 22:32 ---

Substitute and look at the output
Code:
echo ssh -o ConnectTimeout=2 $SERVER $AS_SUDO $COMMANDS

Stop escaping variables needlessly, please. Hard to read

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

assign subst|grep|sed command result to a variable

Hi, I'm quite new to scripting and I want to modify following line of an existing script: MYVAR=`subst |grep 'L:\\\:' | sed -e 's/.*\\\//'`; What I have to do is to use the content of a variable instead of the constant expression 'L:\\\:' as the grep string to be matched. Assuming I already... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: snowbiker99
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

assign awk command result to a variable

#!/bin/sh # ## MYSTRING = `awk '/myApp.app/' /Users/$USER/Library/Preferences/loginwindow.plist` if then echo String not found defaults write /Users/$USER/Library/Preferences/loginwindow AutoLaunchedApplicationDictionary -dict-add -string Hide -bool YES -string Path -string... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: dedmakar
9 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Assign bash command to variable

Hi I am trying to write a function that needs to be able to assign the last run shell command to a variable. The actual command string itself not the exit code of the command. I am using the bash command recall ability to do this as follows: alias pb='ps | grep ash' ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Moxy
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to assign the result of a SQL command to more than one variable in shell script.