Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Beginners Questions & Answers Simple question about charecter count Post 303034770 by kvosu on Sunday 5th of May 2019 04:14:41 PM
Old 05-05-2019
Simple question about charecter count

Hi, I have collection of letters in a column such as:
Code:
AA5678
AA9873434

I am trying to find the number of charecters in each.
Code:
"echo "AA5678"|wc -c

7----------------> why does it give 7 instead of 6?

Last edited by RavinderSingh13; 05-06-2019 at 03:38 AM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Ok simple question for simple knowledge...

Ok what is BSD exactly? I know its a type of open source but what is it exactly? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Corrail
1 Replies

2. Programming

Simple C question... Hopefully it's simple

Hello. I'm a complete newbie to C programming. I have a C program that wasn't written by me where I need to write some wrappers around it to automate and make it easier for a client to use. The problem is that the program accepts standard input to control the program... I'm hoping to find a simple... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: Xeed
6 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Comapring files charecter by charecter using AWK/Shell Script

Hi... I have a requrement to compare two files. for e.g. File 1 2007/08/19 09:48:10 DH-032 $APTA1: Device AATD8029 2007/08/19 09:48:10 DH-045 $APTA1: Device AATD8029 2007/08/19 09:48:10 DH-043 $APTA1: Device AATD8029 File 2 2007-08-19 09:48:10 DH-032... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: evvander
1 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

charecter or number

Hi Friends, How to check a variable value is either charecter or number? With Regards / Ganapati (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ganapati
1 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

simple count script outputting mass errors