Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Start process on X number of files and then wait for the next batch Post 303034555 by Corona688 on Monday 29th of April 2019 11:34:42 AM
Old 04-29-2019
Use the wait command to wait for all background processes to complete.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Process Wait on DG UX

Does anyone know what the equivalent command to pwait on Solaris is on DG/UX. I need my script to kick off a process and wait till it is complete before continuing with the script. (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: fabbas
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Append value(batch number) to start of records

Hi all, I am new to unix shell scripting and I am trying to append batch number that comes in Trailer record to the detailed record. TR|20080312|22881 |000000005|20080319|2202 LN|20080312|077777722220 |0000100000017|ABS LN|20080312|000799439326 |0000709943937|AA TR|20080313|22897 ... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: kiran_418
6 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

wait command - cat it wait for not-chile process?

Did not use 'wait' yet. How I understand by now the wait works only for child processes, started background. Is there any other way to watch completion of any, not related process (at least, a process, owned by the same user?) I need to start a background process, witch will be waiting... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: alex_5161
2 Replies

4. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

wait process

can any one please give me clear idea of wait process in UNIX system. I am using AIX 5.3 and see loots of wait process. I have very basic concept of wait process. If CPU has nothing to do then a wait process is generated per CPU. But i want know the detail how is it forked. Is wait a jombe... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: pchangba1
2 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Ksh Script to get the start minute of n number of process