Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Google Trends: UNIX
The Lounge What is on Your Mind? Google Trends: UNIX Post 303033987 by Neo on Tuesday 16th of April 2019 02:20:09 AM
Old 04-16-2019
Google Trends: UNIX

Over the years I have a lot of experience with people and their opinions of technology, toolsets, programming languages, software architectures, and of course forums. These opinions come from all walks of life and range from "unix.com changed my life and got me though the university... thank you Neo!! " to "Neo, it's your fault that there is declining traffic at unix.com." I learned decades ago to listen to everyone, but in the final analysis I have to make decisions on what I think is best.

Here is a graph from Google trends for the keyword unix from 2004 to now, covering a 15 year period. In this graph, you can easily see that according at least to Google trends, the interest in unix has dropped nearly 95% since 2004. That is a huge drop.

Now, we look at Google trends comparing unix and javascript over the past year. Both trends show a decline, but what is remarkable is that the interest in javascript is about four to five times more than for unix, at least according to Google trends. My experience on YT is that its even higher, as there is a current explosion in the javascript library space.

If we look at the Google trend for unix v. javascript v. php we see a decline in all of these great technologies, but javascript shows a better and stronger trend line that PHP (or unix).

Finally, (for this post) here is the Google trend for unix v. linux over the past five years;

What is important to keep in mind, at least in my mind, is that it is natural for the traffic at unix.com and other mature tech forums to trend downward. The downward trend is not related to individuals or people, but the general overall technology trend.