Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Replace a line with another string + Solaris Post 303033639 by solaris_1977 on Tuesday 9th of April 2019 02:51:23 PM
Old 04-09-2019
Replace a line with another string + Solaris

Hi,

In my /etc/ldap.conf , I have below entry
Code:
uri ldaps://pbs-mast.prd.prp.ia/ ldaps://dbs-mast.prd.prp.ia/

I want to replace it with -
Code:
uri ldaps://dbs-mast.prd.prp.ia/

I tried with awk, but due to / , it is giving error.
Thanks
This User Gave Thanks to solaris_1977 For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

search for a string ,replace the whole line with new line

hai i am very new to unix. i am having two files like this. first.properties cache.ZA.TL_CCY=SELECT trim(CCY_CODE)||trim(COUNTRY_CODE)||trim(CITY_CODE) AS... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: kkraja
4 Replies

2. Red Hat

How to replace a particular string in a line

I have a file with has the following data abaddda;;;;;;;;asdfd;;;d;dadfewdff;f;v;v;v;;v;v;v;v;v;v;v;w;; ;frf;r;v;afd;f;ad;f;d;;va;;g;g;sd;a;dg;ag;ads;ga;dga;d;dsa;;;; ;;sd;df;asd;f;df;adf;adf;;df;df;;d;f;f;sf;df;f;df;;fd;f;f;sdfd;;;; I want to replace every 13 th semicolon ; in... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Raju Datla
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Replace a string after n semicolon every line

I have a file that is formatted in this way. a1;b2;c33;d4;e5;e;f;f;f;s d;ds;d;a;v;b;g;gr;r;rt;fdf s1;s2;s2;s3;s4; b1;f2;g3;h4;a3c4e;xcsd;fds; sd2;fs4;fs2;sdf3; I want to replace the value just before the 4th semicolon to empty string, regardless the value, such that it looks... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: alienated
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

replace (sed?) a single line/string in file with multiple lines (string) from another file??