Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Alias help
Top Forums UNIX for Beginners Questions & Answers Alias help Post 303033215 by wisecracker on Monday 1st of April 2019 04:52:20 PM
Old 04-01-2019
Hi Kentlee65...

Welcome friend...
We need your shell type, machine, and said machine OS.

OK.
When you run your aliases what are the results and/or error reports.
Copy and paste them from your terminal inside '</>' code tags. If nothing happens to any of them then just say nothing or blank.

This is a starter to help you diagnose errors and syntax as well as possible programming errors...
TIA.

Bazza.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Alias

Hello, I'm a beginner to Unix and I want to create an alias that lists the given directory in long format; the alias should use a pager to display the result. Thanks in advance. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: guelpth
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

using alias...

hi.. i want to make an alias in unix, for using it to change of directory by example: if i am in /dtmp/inp/aux and i want to go to /sybase/bd, i want to make an alias named "bd", to go directally to /sybase/bd (alias bd="cd /sybase/bd") i create it, but when i turn off the conection... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: DebianJ
2 Replies

3. HP-UX

alias help

i want to use short cut alias command but its not happening can any on help (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: shafique
4 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

alias help

Hi I have a problem when i try to set any thing as alias it works say alias sasa="cd /home/hghgg" but when i close the terminal it does not work (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: shafique
5 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

please help me regarding alias