Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Compare 2 strings
Operating Systems Linux Ubuntu Compare 2 strings Post 303032813 by drew77 on Sunday 24th of March 2019 03:26:00 PM
Old 03-24-2019
I am trying to understand. I am no guru.

Code:
test1.sh
/home/andy/bin/test1.sh: line 24: syntax error near unexpected token `done'
/home/andy/bin/test1.sh: line 24: `done'

mouse1=$( xinput query-state 9 )
# Give a short delay.
sleep 2
mouse2=$( xinput query-state 9 )

while [ "$mouse1" != "$mouse2" ]
do
echo "Mouse moved."
if [ "$mouse1" == "$mouse2" ]
then
break

done

#while [ condition ]
#do
   #statements1      #Executed as long as condition is true and/or, up to a disaster-condition if any.
   #statements2
  #if (disaster-condition)
  #then
    #break              #Abandon the while lopp.
  #fi
  #statements3          #While good and, no disaster-condition.
#done

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

to compare two strings

hi all, i am new to unix. Actually i need to compare two string and print the result... suppose type='sun' if; then echo good morning else echo good night fi whether the comparison is right r we need to use eq???? help me please.... :confused: thanks in advance.... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ithirak17
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to compare two strings

Hi all, I am trying to compare two strings/dates, but its throwing error::Syntax error at line 5: Please help !! Any alternate way to compare two dates is also fine.... logdate1=`date -u '+%Y.%m.%d %T'` sleep 5 logdate2=`date -u '+%Y.%m.%d %T'` if test... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: prashant43
5 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to compare two strings using if