Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Combining multiple greps
Top Forums UNIX for Beginners Questions & Answers Combining multiple greps Post 303031194 by Xubuntu56 on Saturday 23rd of February 2019 08:34:24 AM
Old 02-23-2019
Is there a "gray area" between grepping and globbing?
A moment ago I just read that "The moral of the story is that grep never uses globbing." (see link)
I also thought I had it straight in my mind that globbing is for filenames, and grepping is for searching text within a file.
Yet my first post above asks for help grepping filenames!

Globbing and Regex: So Similar, So Different | Linux Journal

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Combining multiple lines

I am fairly new to scripting. But I have been able to extract and format all of my information required into one file. My issue is that one character is on a separate line. I need to be able to add the character to the previous line. ex. abcdefghi 1 bcdefghij 3 cdefghijk 4 need to... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: DUST
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sed: Combining Multiple Lines into one

Before I ask my actual question, is it going to be a problem that I want to run this process on a 15 Gig file that is ~140 million rows? What I'm trying to do: I have a file that looks like Color,Type,Count,Day Yellow,Full 5 Tuesday Green,Half 6 Wednesday Purple,Half 8 Tuesday ...... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: goldfish
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Combining multiple commands

Hi Guys, I am looking to optimze these 5 SSH lines to a single SSH to get my machine to not hang! lol! cat hosts.lst | xargs -n1 -t -i echo 'home/util/timeout 6 0 ssh -q {} top -b > util/{}.top &' >> r_query_info cat hosts.lst | xargs -n1 -t -i echo 'home/util/timeout 6 0 ssh -q {} uname -r... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: wick3dsunny
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting