Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Beginners Questions & Answers Issue with awk when joining two files when field has '-' hyphen Post 303030118 by nezabudka on Wednesday 6th of February 2019 06:28:11 AM
Old 02-06-2019
I made a mistake in the name of the variable on the output and fixed it, but it is better to correct the code from RudiC
Copy my code else and replace files places

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Issue with Joining lines from two files

Hi, I have two text files, that need their data joining/concatenation. 'Paste' works for this. But have an issue when there is mismatch in number of rows in each file. E.g. (main file) File1 - has 20 rows File2 - has 30 rows. Command 'paste file1 file2 > file3' joins all lines. I want the... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: sharath160
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Joining Two Files Using Awk

Hi All, I am new to awk program. But i have got some assignment on awk. The problem is: i have two files file1 and file2. Both files have same structure. First i have to join both files on filed1,field2 and field3 and then for matching records i want to perform some calculation like:... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Jeetuibm
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

1024 field issue : awk

Hi i have a txt file in which i do a awk operation with ":" as field separator A B C D ABC::2386.13:2386.13:3248234281995::+DPY:INT:3:N::::2:200.00:0.00:2010-05-12:CA: ::2:N::N:PH:00010031:0001+DPY:BAL:3:N::::3:1601.01:0.00:2010-05-12:XT::2:N:MR ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: mad_man12
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

AWK: Pattern match between 2 files, then compare a field in file1 as > or < field in file2