Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to replace value in each field until a certain character in each record? Post 303027942 by sudhakar1987 on Friday 28th of December 2018 11:47:41 AM
Old 12-28-2018
Thanks for the response vgersh99 . Honestly, I am new to using unix. I tried some options with awk but the results are not matching with my requirement. Any help would be appreciated.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to replace field for each record

Hello, I have the following xml formatted file. I would like to get the newnumber field number and replace into customernumber for each record. For example: <XMLFORMAT> <customernumberR11>9</customernumberR11> ... (12 Replies)
Discussion started by: happyv
12 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Replace third field of the first record in a file....

Hi, I am new to unix and am trying to do something below: I have a pipe delimited file with millions of records. I need to replace the third column of the first record to the number of lines in the file. How can I do that. Will appreciate any advice and help. Thanks Simi (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: simi28
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Replace comma by space for specified field in record

Hi, i want to replace comma by space for specified field in record, i mean i want to replace the commas in the 4th field by space. and rest all is same throught the record. the record is 16458,99,001,"RIMOUSKI, QC",418,"N",7,EST,EDT,902 16458,99,002,"CHANDLER,... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: raghavendra.cse
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Count number of occurences of a character in a field defined by the character in another field