Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Creating script with multiple job arrays Post 303026243 by idbemad on Thursday 22nd of November 2018 08:39:22 AM
Old 11-22-2018
Creating script with multiple job arrays

Hello everyone,

First of all this is my first post and im fairly new to working with Unix and creating scripts etc. so there will probably be wrong phrases used.

Lets get to my questions.

I have multiple scripts that submit Slurms/Jobs to the cluster starting like this and doing certain tasks:

Code:
#!/bin/bash
#SBATCH --partition=
#SBATCH --ntasks=
#SBATCH --time=0-10:00
#SBATCH --mem-per-cpu=48G
#SBATCH --job-name=basic_test
#SBATCH --mail-type=END,FAIL
#SBATCH --mail-user=           
#SBATCH --array=1-14

I have to run multiple of those scripts AFTER all the Slurms from the preceeding job are finished. Now I want to write a script that does exactly that. I already tried something like this:

Code:
#!/bin/bash

sbatch ~/testscript1.sh

wait

sbatch ~/testscript2.sh

the problem seems to be that the skript thinks that testscript1.sh is done as soon as it submitted all the slurms in the array to the server and then it starts testscript2.sh. This leads to problems because testscript2.sh works with some files that are only created when the submitted slurms from testscript1.sh are done.

Thank you for your help

Last edited by Scrutinizer; 11-22-2018 at 09:53 AM.. Reason: code tags

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

shell: creating different arrays based on function argument

hi, I was wondering if there was a good way to create an array within a function, where the name is based on a passed argument? I tried this: _____________________________ func(){ #take in 1st arg as the arrayname arrayName=$1 let i=0 while read line do arrayName=${line} let i+=1... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: nix21
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Creating an unknown number of arrays