Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Linux Troubleshooting init.d script Post 303026234 by rlopes on Thursday 22nd of November 2018 05:44:31 AM
Old 11-22-2018
Troubleshooting init.d script

This is what I did:

1. I wrote a simple init.d script (myscript.sh)

2. I placed it under /etc/init.d (where many other default scripts already are)
3. Set the perms to 755
4. Run: update-rc.d myscript.sh defaults

I can run it perfectly by doing:

/etc/init.d/myscript.sh start

But it doesn't run at startup. What am I missing?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Troubleshooting Script

I am fairly new to Unix (Sun OS) scripting with Ksh, and I could use a little help troubleshooting my script. When I run it, I get the error "if unexpected" on the function setYear. If I comment out the setYear function, I get the error "for unexpected" on the function sendEmails. This leads me... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: mharley
8 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Init 6 & Init 0 problem

Hi Expert, I have encountered some problem with my SUN system. Everytime when i issue command #init 6 OR #init 0 it just logout and prompt for login again instead of rebooting the server when run init 6 and system shutdown when run init 0.. I can only reboot the system using reboot ... Was... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: sc2005
6 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

calling a function in Shell script troubleshooting

Some Code After Some code part is executed the control doesnt go to rvin_doxx_scrt.. and the script exits rvin_doxx_scrt() { Some Code } if (som code) ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: ultimatix
4 Replies

4. Linux

How to I change init levels after typing init 1